SEBI Published a Fresh List of 1677 Defaulters

Sharing is caring!

As many as 1,677 entities, including individuals, failed to pay penalties imposed by Sebi till the end of May, according to the regulator.

The list of defaulters as on May 31, 2018 “for non-payment of the penalty imposed by Sebi through orders passed up to December 31, 2017″ has been published on the regulator’s website on Monday.

The defaulters include individuals as well as companies that failed to pay fines for various offenses related to the securities market.

While certain dues are as small as Rs 15,000, other penalties run into a few lakhs and even crores of rupees.

These violations pertained to providing unregistered portfolio management services, failure to redress investors’ complaints and unauthorized collection of money from investors, among others.

Some dues are pending since 1998 and many cases are also in courts and at other forums.

Separately, the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Sebi) said it has launched a prosecution in 1,139 cases for various violation “other than collective investment scheme (CIS) as on July 31, 2018”.

The regulator is also exercising its powers to attach bank as well as demand accounts and other assets for recovery of the dues.

Sebi has powers to recover penalties imposed by the adjudicating officer, amount directed to be disgorged and money ordered to be refunded to the regulator.

SMEStreet Desk

SMEStreet is fast growing platform dedicated to entrepreneurs from small and medium sized businesses (SMEs). Committed to facilitate Knowledge & Networking for Business Growth, SMEStreet offers value added content which shows the actual voice of Indian MSMEs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: