ClustersNorth Zone

Ashok Gehlot to be the Next CM of Rajasthan

Sharing is caring!

Congress leadership elected veteran leader Ashok Gehlot as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan and Sachin Pilot as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state. “Congress President Rahul Gandhi has decided to appoint Ashok Gehlot Ji as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan. Sachin Pilot will be the Deputy Chief Minister of Rajasthan,” said KC Venugopal, All India Congress Committee observer for Rajasthan.  The decision came after party president Rahul Gandhi met both the contenders, their third such meeting in 48 hours.

Speaking to reporters after being named as deputy CM of Rajasthan, Pilot said,”I would like to thank Congress President Rahul Gandhi and other legislators for taking this decision to make Ashok Gehlot Ji the Chief Minister of Rajasthan.”

Earlier in the day, Gandhi had posted his photograph with both Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot with a  caption “United Colours of Rajasthan!”

If reports are to be believed, Pilot had put up a strong claim to the post on the ground that he had galvanized the party after the defeat in 2013, when he was appointed the state party chief. Supporters of Pilot, earlier took to the streets demanding that he (Pilot) to be named as Rajasthan’s next Chief Minister. Pilot supporters, particularly from the Gujjar community, blocked a road in Nathni Ka Bara in Alwar district. But the protest ended following the intervention of senior Gujjar leaders.

On Thursday, Pilot and Gehlot had separate meetings with Gandhi after the leadership issue was settled in Madhya Pradesh. Notably, the grand old party has made a stunning comeback winning 99 of 199 seats in the recently concluded state Assembly elections 2018.

SMEStreet Desk

SMEStreet is fast growing platform dedicated to entrepreneurs from small and medium sized businesses (SMEs). Committed to facilitate Knowledge & Networking for Business Growth, SMEStreet offers value added content which shows the actual voice of Indian MSMEs.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: